Five shows have been named as winners of the inaugural 2012 Scotsman Fringe First awards.

The awards were set up 39 years ago to encourage new writing to come to the Fringe. This year more than 500 shows are eligible for the awards which take place every week of the Fringe.

Actor Bill Paterson and theatre critic Joyce McMillan handed the prizes out at a ceremony in Assembly George Square.

The winners were Mark Thomas: Bravo Figaro! (Traverse), Ontroerend Goed’s All That Is Wrong (Traverse), Pepperdine University’s production of Peter Arnott’s Why Do You Stand There In The Rain (C venues), Vicky Araico Casas’s Juana In A Million (Pleasance Dome) and The Group Theatre of Helsinki’s Continuous Growth.

The next set of Scotsman Fringe First awards will be announced on 17th August 2012.

For information on all of the 2012 Award Winners, visit our 2012 Award Winners page which will be updated throughout August.