20 August 2014

The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society has announced the outcome of the elections to the Society’s governing body, the Board of Directors.

The elections were held to coincide with the Annual General Meeting of the Society which was held on Tuesday 19 August at the Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh. Anyone can join the Society and all members of the Society were entitled to vote.

Since 2010 the Society has had a constitution in which Board members were elected into three categories: show participant, venue and an open category.

In the ‘show participant’ category Pip Utton was elected unopposed.

In the ‘venue’ category Charlie Wood was elected over Aidan Goatley and JD Henshaw.

Richard Lloyd was elected in the ‘open’ category ahead of Naomi Paxton, Chris Wang and Peter Briffett.

The elections were carried out using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system of preferential voting and were managed on behalf of the Society by Electoral Reform Services.

Each of the newly elected Board Members will serve a four year term.

The Society would like to thank Peter Buckley Hill and Sally Cowling who stepped down at the AGM this year.

The General meeting also agreed to a special resolution to tidy up the Society’s Constitution.

The special resolution removed the requirement for the Board to release from membership any individual who has not renewed their membership after their existing membership has lapsed. The former system whereby the Board officially released Members was antiquated and therefore the Board will now intention to allow for memberships to end automatically after 365 days (or 366 in the case of a leap year).