The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society is a membership organisation and has a Board of Directors responsible for setting the annual budget, ensuring that the organisation fulfils its charitable objectives, and ensuring the good governance of the Society.

Membership of the Fringe Society is open to anyone. If you are interested in becoming a member, please visit our Membership area for full details on joining the Society.

The Participants' Council is an advisory body that acts as the voice of Fringe participants for the Board on all matters relating to the Fringe. Council members are also ambassadors for the Fringe Society, providing feedback and information to and from their own networks.

Nominations have now closed for the forthcoming elections to the Board of Directors and the Participants Council of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society.

The candidates standing for the Board of Directors are:

Show Participant Category (1 position)
Candidate Name Proposed by Seconded by
Susan Morrison Tommy Sheppard Christine Sneddon
Jennifer Sutherland Louise Callow Teresa Burns
Venue Category (1 position)
Candidate Name Proposed by Seconded by
Gareth Morinan Rowan Campbell James Ross
Charlie Wood Pip Utton Sam Gough
Open Category (1 position)
Candidate Name Proposed by Seconded by
Graeme Baillie Thomas Halpin QPM Jacqueline Morton
Paul Fitzpatrick Judith Doherty Anthony Alderson
Sam Friedman Ben Judge Louise Black
Richard Wiseman Caroline Watt Rachel McCluskey (McKenzie)
Marlene Zwickler Alister O’Loughlin Ann Russell

Full information on the candidates can be found here.

What happens next?

Members of the Fringe Society will get their ballot papers on or around Monday 22 July. Members joining after this date (but before the 05 of August) will receive their papers by return. All members will have until Tuesday 20 August to cast their votes.

The election results will be declared by Wednesday 21 August and posted on our website.

If you have an interest in the future of the Society or a desire to support one or more of the candidates you can still vote in the election as long as you join the Society by 12:00 on Monday 05 August.

Information on how to join the Fringe Society can be found here.

Participants’ Council

At the close of nominations six candidates had been nominated for the vacant positions on the Participants’ Council. Therefore, the Returning Officer has declared that the following are elected unopposed:

Name Category
Pab Roberts Performer
Sarah-Louise Young Performer
Richard Lloyd Venue
Heather Young Venue
Toby Mitchell Producer
Holly Payton Producer

Questions relating to Society membership or elections can be directed to