28 August 2015

More awards have been announced in the second week of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, including Fringe Firsts, Herald Angels, Euan’s Guide Accessible Fringe Awards, the Primary Times Children’s Choice Award, the Fringe Review Outstanding Theatre Awards and the Scottish Arts Club Theatre Awards.

The Scotsman Fringe Firsts have once again been awarded to seven shows premiering new writing. This week’s winners are Light Boxes (Summerhall), Raz (Assembly), Citizen Puppet (Pleasance), Labels (Pleasance), Tar Baby (Gilded Balloon), Trans Scripts (Pleasance), and The Great Downhill Journey of Little Tommy (Summerhall).

The Herald’s panel of critics have decided upon the second group of Herald Angels which have been awarded to Aceh Meukondore (C Venues), Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse Theatre), and Penny Arcade: Longing Lasts Longer (Underbelly).

The Euan’s Guide Accessible Fringe Awards aim to promote accessible theatre by recognising shows and venues that are doing something outstanding to include disabled audiences. The winner of the Accessible Show award is The Solid Life of Sugar (Pleasance), and the runner up is Wendy Hoose by Johnny McKnight (Assembly Rooms). The Euan’s Guide Accessible Venue has been awarded to Dance Base.

The winner of the Primary Times Children’s Choice Award is The Voice Thief (Summerhall). This was decided by a contingent of parent and child review teams who assess shows based on content, scenery, costumes, audience engagement and participation, educational value and overall family entertainment.

Fringe Review have presented the first of their Outstanding Theatre Awards to The Frantic Canticles of Little Brother Fish (Bedlam Theatre). This show reached Fringe Review’s five-star standard.

The Scottish Arts Club Theatre Awards recognise emerging and established talent within the Scottish theatre scene and the winners this year are Swallow (Traverse Theatre), Light Boxes (Summerhall), and The Gospel According to Jesus, Queen of Heaven (Summerhall).

Congratulations to all the award winners.

The 2015 Awards page will be updated frequently as winners are announced.