These awards recognise diversity, accessibility and inclusivity – please see the details of each award for entry specifics.

The Asian Arts Award was founded in 2014 to promote Asian art forms at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. All artists with an Asian connection are eligible to apply. When you apply you'll be invited to our free launch party / press night as well as the final award ceremony. It's also a great way to make new friends and connections at the Fringe. Check out for more information and the gallery of past events.

Awards will be made in the following categories:

  • Best Show, Best Production
  • Best Director
  • Best Male Performer
  • Best Female Performer
  • Best Young Performer
  • Asian Arts Special Award

2023 award winners

  • Best Show
    Baklâ – Max Percy + Friends

  • Best Production
    Fall And Flow – Theatre de la Feuille
    Runner-up: Weathervanes – Journey To The East Productions 

  • Best Director
    Huang Ying for Journey To The West – Full Show Lane Studio 
    Runner-up: Chan Chu-hei for Candide – A Voyage Of Disenchantment – Ima Collab

  • Best Performer
    Enuji Lim and Eseul Kim for The Maids – Moosoo Theatre Group 
    Runner-up: Elizabeth Gunawan for Unforgettable Girl – Elizabeth Gunawan and Saksi Bisou with Created A Monster 

  • Asian Arts Special Award
    Mother Courage and Her Children, directed by Zhao Miao 

    For his tenth anniversary of bringing shows to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, with a special commendation to Wang Yue for her outstanding performance in the lead role.

The Mental Health Foundation Fringe Award was established in 2017 in recognition of the most compelling new show about mental health at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. It is presented by the Mental Health Foundation and supported by the Scotsman newspaper. From 2023 to 2025 it will be sponsored by the Cornwell Charitable Trust, in memory of the arts journalist Tim Cornwell who died in 2022.

The longlist is compiled from a combination of self-nomination, nominations by venues and promoters, and recommendations from the Mental Health Foundation's network of cultural contacts. The shortlist is announced during the final week of the Fringe. The winner will be offered a flexible package of support tailored to the needs of each creative team and the future development of their show, which may include mentoring support and mental health training, support with funding applications and/or a contribution to production costs.

If you wish to be considered for the award, please contact Andrew Eaton-Lewis on [email protected].

2023 shortlist

  • Before The Drugs Kick In, theSpaceUK
  • Choo Choo! (Or... Have You Ever Thought About ****** **** *****? (Cos I Have)), Pleasance
  • How To Bury a Dead Mule, Pleasance
  • King, Assembly @ Dance Base
  • No Love Songs, Traverse
  • No One is Coming, Scottish Storytelling Centre
  • Woodhill, Summerhall

2023 award winner

  • Choo Choo! (Or... Have You Ever Thought About ****** **** *****? (Cos I Have)), Pleasance

Neurodiverse Review is working with charities and theatre companies to provide awards for exceptional work at the Edinburgh Fringe 2023. Autistic, neurodiverse and disabled-led work can often be ignored or misunderstood. All our awards are open for anyone from our community; you can also nominate an act that is not yours.

Judges will be going to see shows during the Fringe, you can request to be considered for an award by contacting us via Also, any show reviewed by us with a 4/5 star rating will also be considered for longlisting in an eligible category.

The nominations will be judged by a panel from our communities.

2023 award winners

  • The Bounce Emerging Artist Award
    Mari Crawford – Bipolar Badass
  • Actually Autistic Excellence
    Don Biswas – The Revolution will be Disorganised
  • ADHD Comedy Award
    Robin Ince – Weapons of Empathy
  • Neurodiversity Representation
    McClaine Beirne – Wheelie Funny
  • Outstanding Visually Impaired Creative
    Visually Impaired Creators Scotland – Cabaret in the Dark
  • Birds of Paradise Exceptional Theatre
    Eleanor Hill – Sad-Vents
  • Birds of Paradise Emerging Artist
    Shaharah Gaznabbi – What Can Indian Look Like?
  • DeafAction Excellence Award
    Jenny Sealey – Self-Raising
  • Disability Champions
    Mark Nicholas & Benny Shakes – Disabled Cants
  • Lifetime Achievement
    Paul Wady – Guerrilla Autistics