The Fringe Society has announced the outcome of the 2020 elections to its governing body, the Board of Directors.

The elections typically coincide with the annual general meeting (AGM) of the Society in August; however, to accommodate this year’s unusual circumstances – the Covid-19 outbreak and the absence of a physical Fringe – both the voting deadline and the AGM were rescheduled to Thursday 17 September. 

Membership of the Society is open to everyone and all members of the Society are entitled to vote. Voter turnout in this year’s elections was 66.8%. The Society’s constitution invites candidates for the board to stand in three different categories: Show Participant, Venue and an Open category. 

In the Show Participant category, Apphia Campbell was elected over Flavia D’Avila and Lubna Kerr.

In the Venue category, James Mackenzie was elected over Karl Bevis and Chris Cook.

In the Open category, Pip Utton was elected over John-David Henshaw, Oliver Savage, Neil Weir, Miriam Wolanski and Marlene Zwickler. 

The elections were carried out using the single transferable vote electoral system and were managed on behalf of the Society by Civica Election Services.

Each of the newly elected Directors will serve a four-year term.