The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society has marked the final week of the 2013 Fringe by announcing the outcome of the elections to the Society’s governing body, the Board of Directors.

The elections were held to coincide with the Annual General Meeting of the Society which was held on Tuesday 20 August at the Carlton Hotel in Edinburgh. Anyone is allowed to join the Society and all members of the Society were entitled to vote. This year the turnout in the election was 44.4% which is a similar level to previous years.

Since 2010 the Society has had a constitution in which board members were put into three categories: show participant, venues and an open category.

In the ‘show participant’ category Susan Morrison was elected ahead of Jennifer Sutherland.

In the ‘venue’ category Gareth Morinan was elected over Charlie Wood.

Richard Wiseman won the election in the ‘open’ category ahead of Graeme Baillie, Paul Fitzpatrick, Sam Friedman, and Marlene Zwickler.

The elections were carried out using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system of preferential voting and were managed on behalf of the Society by Electoral Reform Services.

Each of the newly elected Board Members will serve a four year term.