26 August 2015

The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society has marked the final six days of the 2015 Fringe by announcing the outcome of the elections to the Society’s governing body, the Board of Directors.

The elections were held to coincide with the Annual General Meeting of the Society which took place on Tuesday 25 August at the Balmoral Hotel in Edinburgh. Anyone is allowed to join the Society and all members of the Society were entitled to vote. This year the turnout in the election was 52%.

Since 2010 the Society has had a constitution in which candidates for the board were able to stand in three categories: show participant, venues and an open category.

In the Show Participant category Harry Gooch was elected over Tamsin Fitzgerald.

In the Venue category Luke Meredith was successfully elected over J D Henshaw and Sam Gough.

Matt Panesh won the election in the Open category ahead of Brian Cleary, Thomas Goodwin, Alister O’Loughlin, Bridget Stevens and Barrie Taylor.

The elections were carried out using the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system of preferential voting and were managed on behalf of the Society by Electoral Reform Services.

Each of the newly elected Board Members will serve a four year term.