Nominations have now closed for candidates wishing to stand in the 2012 elections to the Board of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society.

The candidates standing are:

  • Performer Category (1 position)
    • Kate Smurthwaite
    • Andre Vincent
  • Venue Category (1 position)
    • Anthony Alderson
    • Richard Wiseman
  • Open Category (1 position)
    • Sharon Burgess
    • Judith Doherty
    • Wesley Shrum

Under a constitution adopted in 2012 the Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society elects three Directors to its board each year. The elections conclude with the Annual General Meeting of the Society which this year takes place on Saturday 18 August.

There are twelve positions on the board that are directly elected by members of the Society. A third of these positions are reserved for Fringe performers and another third are reserved for representatives of Fringe venues with the final third being open to all members of the Society. For anyone with a passion about how the Fringe should develop or views about the work of the Fringe Society this is the opportunity to turn those beliefs into action.

All members of the Society are entitled to vote in the election and anyone with an interest in and commitment to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe can join the Society. Anybody who joins the Society before 23.59 on 20 July can participate in this year’s elections.

The Fringe Society Board of Directors is responsible, under charity and company law, for the governance of the Society. The Board sets the budget, holds the management of the Society to account and sets the long-term plans and ambitions of the organisation. With a remit like that it is crucial that board members have a passion and a depth of understanding about the Fringe and the very unique role of the Society in the broader Fringe community.

More information about the elections can be found here