These awards are open to comedy shows – please see the details of each award for entry specifics and sub-genres.

The Amused Moose Comedy Award seeks out breakthrough comedy talent that is yet to become well known (so could be said to be 'almost television-ready'), who have their own solo, sketch or multiple comedian / performer show at the Edinburgh Fringe.

Best Show, Best Performer and Best Person, as determined by those involved in comedy shows.

All comedy shows and performers are automatically eligible for Best Show and Best Performer – no need to do anything to put yourself forward. Best Person tends to be for someone who works behind the scenes at the festival, eg a venue manager, flyerer or agent. Each comedy show in the brochure is invited to vote once for their favourite show, performer and person. You can't vote for anyone in your own show.

In the second half of the festival, the online nominations / voting form is made available online. When voting closes, the show / person will the most votes at that point is announced as the winner of that category.

Visit for more information.

Recognising the best artwork related to comedy shows at the festival. Any poster related to a comedy show performing at the festival can be entered. The winner of the Audience Award is whichever poster gets the most votes on the website. The Panel Award is determined by a jury of industry professionals. 

2019 winner

2019 shortlist

Established in 1981 the UK’s premier Awards are now in their 39th year. There are three awards:

Best Comic / Comedy Show: For the funniest, most outstanding, up-and-coming comic / comedy show / act at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. The prize is £10,000.

Best Newcomer: For the performer or act who is performing their first full-length show (50 minutes or more) at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. The prize is £5,000. Please note that newcomers are eligible for the Best Comedy Show Award, if that is the Panel’s decision, but no act can appear on both shortlists in the same year.

For further information on the awards, please see

Malcolm Hardee (19502005) was a British comic, agent, manager, club-owner and anarchic prankster. The Malcolm Hardee Awards were initiated at the Edinburgh Fringe in 2005, the year of his death, to celebrate and promote the spirit of madcap, anything-goes comedy anarchy that he personified.

The So You Think You’re Funny? competition was created by the Gilded Balloon and Karen Koren in 1988 to discover, support and nurture new comic talent. 

2021 winner

  • Omar Badawy

2021 runners up

  • Rae Brogan
  • Andy Watts